Today we are unified in calling on residents and visitors to our respective communities to refrain from violence in the exercise of our First Amendment rights to free speech and to peaceably assemble.

Black Lives Matter.

Violence has no place in civic engagement and protest.

Throughout 2020, and in too many years prior, we have born witness to instances of racial injustice, police brutality and the rise of white supremacist rhetoric throughout our country, and right here at home. Even now we are experiencing unhelpful and inflammatory comments and acts, from many quarters, including the highest office in the land. The overwhelming majority of our community who have risen to protest for social justice and against racial inequities have done so peacefully, in keeping with public health guidelines and within the bounds protected by our state and federal constitutions.

Unfortunately, there are some individuals who have chosen violence over peaceful protest, violence towards other protestors, violence towards police officers and even an instance of deadly violence experienced recently in downtown Portland. While we recognize the outrage toward racial injustice is the foundation for the past 100+ days of protest, we call on everyone in our community seeking to confront racial injustice and to demand police accountability to forgo the path of violence.

We invite every member of our respective communities to continue to engage with our governments, to hold us accountable and to contribute to and facilitate a transformation away from racist systems and towards a more equitable, just community.

Similarly, we ask those who may want to demonstrate to do so peacefully and safely. The challenging work of our law enforcement agencies is only made more so when protests turn violent. We must speak up against violence, all violence.

We have zero tolerance for outside provocateurs bringing hate into our communities.

We acknowledge Oregon's long and difficult history with racism. And we commit to continuing to do the work to dismantle these systems. Our communities have a proud history of supporting the right to free expression, of recognizing a wide array of political viewpoints and of understanding the role dissent and debate play in our democracy.

What we ask now is that each of us fully embrace non-violence in the pursuit of these principles.

Thank you.

State of Oregon

Chuck Riley, Senator Elizabeth Steiner Hayward, MD, Senator Ginny Burdick, Senator Kathleen Taylor, Senator Laurie Monnes Anderson, Senator Michael Dembrow, Senator Alissa Keny-Guyer, Representative Andrea Salinas, Representative Anna Williams, Representative Brad Witt, Representative Chris Gorsek, Representative Diego Hernandez, Representative Janeen Sollman, Representative Jeff Reardon, Representative Margaret Doherty, Representative Maxine Dexter, Representative Rachel Prusak, Representative Rob Nosse, Representative Sheri Schouten, Representative Susan McLain, Representative Tawna Sanchez, Representative Tiffiny Mitchell, Representative

City of Banks Erica Harold-Heine, Councilor

City of Beaverton

Denny Doyle, Mayor Cate Arnold, Councilor Lacey Beaty, Councilor Marc San Soucie, Councilor

City of Cornelius Jeffrey Dalin, Mayor Dave Schamp, Councilor Luis Hernandez, Councilor

City of Durham Gery Schirado, Mayor

Washington County

Kathryn Harrington, Chair Dick Schouten, Commissioner Pam Treece, Commissioner Jerry Willey, Commissioner Roy Rogers, Commissioner

Clackamas County

Jim Bernard, Chair Martha Schrader, Commissioner Paul Savas, Commissioner Sonya Fischer, Commissioner

Multnomah County

Deborah Kafoury, Chair Lori Stegmann, Commissioner Jessica Vega Pederson, Commissioner

Metro

Lynn Peterson, Council President Shirley Craddick, Councilor, District 1 Christine Lewis, Councilor, District 2 Craig Dirksen, Councilor, District 3 Juan Carlos González, Councilor, District 4 Sam Chase, Councilor, District 5 Bob Stacey, Councilor, District 6

King City Ken Gibson, Mayor

City of Lake Oswego Kent Studebaker, Mayor Theresa Kohlhoff, Councilor

City of Milwaukie Mark Gamba, Mayor Kathy Hyzy, Councilor Wilda Parks, Councilor **City of Estacada** Kimberlee Ables, Councilor

City of Fairview Darren Riordan, Councilor Keith A Kudrna, Councilor

City of Forest Grove Pete Truax, Mayor Timothy A. Rippe, Councilor Val Valfre, Jr., Councilor

City of Gladstone Matt Tracy, Council President Thomas Mersereau, Councilor Neal Reisner, Councilor

City of Gresham Karylinn Echols, Mayor Eddy Morales, Councilor Vince Jones-Dixon, Councilor Mario Palmero, Councilor

City of Hillsboro Steve Callaway, Mayor Beach Pace, Councilor Kyle Allen, Councilor Olivia Alcaire, Councilor Anthony Martin, Councilor Fred Nachtigal, Councilor Rick Van Beveren, Councilor

Tualatin Hills Parks & Rec Dept Heidi Edwards, Board Director Ashley Hartmeier-Prigg, Board President **City of North Plains** Teri Lenahan, Mayor

City of Portland Ted Wheeler, Mayor Amanda Fritz, Commissioner

City of Sherwood Renee Brouse, Councilor Sean Garland, Councilor

City of Tigard Heidi Lueb, Councilor Jason B. Snider, Mayor

City of Tualatin Frank Bubenik, Mayor Nancy Grimes, Councilor Paul Morrison, Councilor Robert Kellogg, Councilor Valerie Pratt, Councilor

City of West Linn Russell Axelrod, Mayor

City of Wilsonville Tim Knapp, Mayor Kristin Akervall, Councilor

City of Wood Village Scott Harden, Mayor John C. Miner, Councilor