

Washington County Solid Waste Recycling

Garbage and Recycling Collection Services and Rates for Unincorporated Washington County

Compactor, Drop Box and Occasional Containers Rates Effective August 1, 2023

Compactor and Drop Box Services			
Container Size (in cubic yards)	Haul Fee* (charged per pick- up)		
Compactors: For customers with compactor service scompactors.	supplying their own		
10-29 cubic yards	\$180.32		
30 cubic yards and greater	\$203.61		
Drop Box: For customers needing one-time or recurri	ing usage of drop box.		
10-19 and 20 yard	\$134.74		
30 yard	\$151.96		
40 yard	\$160.04		

*Additional Fees and Charges:

Saturday Service: Charged at 1.5 times the regular haul rate (above) and shall be arranged with the collection company prior to service.

Disposal: The actual charge to the hauler at the disposal site usually charged per ton of material. This fee is then charged to the customer.

Fees/Profit Margin: The County fee and the certificate holder profit margin applied to the cost of disposal only.

Drop Box Delivery/Set Up Fee: A \$21.70 fee assessed on all non-recurring (non-exchange) drop box customers, and to recurring customers for first-time delivery of a drop box. The delivery fee does not apply to compactor or occasional container service.

Mileage: Charged at \$2.69 per mile from pick-up of the box/compactor container material to the nearest authorized disposal site by public highway.

Rental: The daily fee after two calendar days (not including Sunday). See Administrative Rules Section 14(S)(d)(4).

Rental Rate (daily)	10-20 yard	30 yard	40 yard
	\$6.67	\$8.77	\$9.87

Occasional Containers			
Container Size (in cubic yards)	Rate* (charged per pick-up)		
1	\$64.46		
1.5	\$70.41		
2	\$76.37		
3	\$88.27		
4	\$100.18		
5	\$112.06		
6	\$131.46		
8	\$157.23		

*Additional Fees and Charges:

Mileage: Charged at \$2.69 per mile from pick-up of the box container material to the nearest authorized disposal site by public highway.

Rental: The daily rental fee after two calendar days (not including Sunday) is \$3.27 per day.

Overweight Containers: For penalties assessed on overweight containers. See administrative Rules Sections 14 (O)(d) and14(P)(b).

Compactor, Drop Box and Occasional Container rates DO NOT INCLUDE recycling collection. Please see the Recycling Collection Services Rates below.

Rates for Additional Container Recycling Service and

Recycling Services for Commercial Drop Box, Compactor and Recycling-Only Customers

A \$2.00 surcharge will be added to can/cart recycling collection service rate and a 4.00% surcharge will be added to container recycling collection service rates.

		Collection Frequency			
Container Size/Service	Every-other-week	1 x per week	2 x per week	3 x per week	
Glass collection service	\$6.01	\$8.01	n/a	n/a	
96-gallon mixed-recycling cart	\$8.15	\$12.21	n/a	n/a	
1, 1.5, 2, 3 yard container	n/a	\$35.40	\$50.58	\$65.75	
4+ yard container	n/a	\$40.45	\$55.64	\$70.81	

For container pick-up frequency greater than 3 times per week add \$15 per additional pickup.

Questions?

For questions regarding your bill, contact your garbage and recycling collection company. All collection services are provided by the certificated collection company in your area

For questions about the County rates, contact the Solid Waste & Recycling at 503-846-3605. Rates and service standards are established by Washington County. www.WashingtonCountyRecycles.com



Washington County Solid Waste & Recycling

Garbage and Recycling Collection Services and Rates for Unincorporated Washington County

ADDITIONAL SERVICES AND FEES

Rates effective August 1, 2023

Additional Yard Debris Services and Fees

Includes every-other-week collection of yard debris using hauler provided 60-gallon carts. Applies to Urban* customers only.

Rural** customers do not receive yard debris collection services			
Yard Debris-Only Service: Available to all urban customers who do not already subscribe to Standard Residential Can/Cart Collection Service or is an add-on service for Standard Commercial Can/Cart Collection Service customers.	\$5.46		
Additional Yard Debris Cart: Available to Standard Can/Cart Collection and Yard Debris-Only	\$4.39		
Extra Can/Bag/Bundle of Yard Debris: Available to Standard Residential and Yard Debris-Only	\$3.52		

Effective October 1, 2023 Residential customers can add food scraps to the yard-debris collection cart

Other Fees			
		Urban*	Rural*
Extra Bag/Bundle of Garbage		\$7.32	\$7.81
Commercial Receptacle Cleaning Fee: Charged per occurrence, per receptacle for cleaning or			
swap-out based on customer request. Annually, commercial food scraps collection customers receive one free cleaning or swap-out per receptacle.		\$16.58	\$16.58
Call Backs: Charged when pickup is missed due to customer		\$16.61	\$17.30
error. See Administrative Rules Section 14(E)(b)(4).		\$10.01	φ17.30
Distance Charge: Monthly fee charged to residential can/cart customers when receptacles are placed more than 5 feet from the curbside or roadside. Haulers shall provide non-curbside or non-roadside residential collection service at no extra charge to disabled residential customers.	5 feet to 150 feet	\$15.25	\$11.73
See Administrative Rules Sections 14N(b)(6)(e) and 14N(c)(5)(e).	151 feet or greater	\$23.46	\$19.93
Drop Box/Compactor Service Interference Fee: Charged when the driver is unable to safely service a compactor/drop box because of site issues; such as, blocked access to the compactor/drop box.		\$35.00	\$70.00
Drop Box Relocation Fee: Charged when the customer requests that the collection company make a special trip to the site to relocate a drop box on the same site.		\$35.00	\$70.00
Commercial Compactor Turn-Around Fee: Charged per occurrence when collection requires the driver to turn around the compactor.		\$35.00	
Locked Containers/Doors Fee: Applicable if a commercial customer utilizes locks on the container or enclosure gate that requires that the collection company driver unlock the container or gate.		\$10.00 per lock/per month	
Over-Capacity Charge: Fee charged to can/cart customers when the garbage container is overfilled. A good indicator of over-filling is that the lid does not close.		\$2.75	
Unreturned Cart Fee: Applies to residential service only. See Administrative Rules Section 14(F)(j).		\$50.00	
NSF Charge: Charged for non-sufficient funds.		\$30.00	
Reinstatement Fee: Charged after cancellation for non-payment.		\$25.00	
Unscheduled Service: Charged for out-of-the-ordinary service collection of bulky items such as tires or appliances, as well as for requests for other unscheduled services.		\$75.00 per hour plus disposal, if applicable	

^{*}Urban customers are located within the Metropolitan Service District Boundary. ** Rural customers are located outside the Metropolitan Service District Boundary.

Questions?

For questions regarding your bill, contact your garbage and recycling collection company. All billing is completed by the private collection companies. For questions about the County rates, contact the Washington County Solid Waste & Recycling at 503-846-3605. Rates and service standards are established by Washington County.

www.WashingtonCountyRecycles.com