In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Oregon Legislature enacted an eviction moratorium through June 30, 2021, and established the Landlord Compensation Fund (House Bill 4401). The Legislature allocated $200 million in rent assistance to support tenants and landlords, which includes $150 million for the Landlord Compensation Fund.
Through this program, landlords of residential properties have been compensated for tenant past due rent. The third and likely final round of applications closed on June 23, 2021. Approximately $60 million was available for this round of applications. The program paid out 100% of past due rent in this final round. Landlords that already received 80% compensation through the program will be paid the remaining 20%. The program coverage was also expanded to include past due rent from both current and former tenants through June 2021.
If another application round opens, landlords must provide tenants with written notice about the application and obtain a signed Declaration of Financial Hardship from all tenants to be included in the fund reimbursement. All applications must be submitted through the Landlord Compensation Fund Application Portal.
Landlords can learn more about the program by visiting the Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS) Landlord Compensation Fund page; also, see the FAQs below. Landlords can also sign up for the 'Landlord Compensation Fund Updates' e-mail list to receive updates on the program.
Questions about the program can be submitted directly to OHCS program staff at [email protected]. In addition, Washington County has set up dedicated program contact points at [email protected] and 503-846-4775.
Landlords can apply for compensation for current tenants with past rent debt owed from between April 1, 2020 and the current date, who meet the criteria for financial hardship. Tenants must provide their landlord with a Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection. When tenants provide this form to their landlord, they are protected from eviction through June 30th, 2021, and the landlord may use the form to request payment for rental debt owed from April 1, 2020 to present through the Landlord Compensation Fund.
Applications are to be made electronically through the Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS) LCF Application Portal. Landlords must provide tenants with a Building Notice about the application, along with a Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection that must be signed and submitted for any tenants to be included in the reimbursement.
Requests for accommodations may be made by contacting the program ([email protected]). Requests due to disability will be handled through the Reasonable Accommodation process as prescribed by Fair Housing law.
Applicants will be required to upload rent amounts collected and owed for all units from April 1, 2020 through the date of application. Tenant name and contact information is only required for current tenants with past-due rents. This information will be used to determine payment amounts and to track declaration notices. Applicants will also need to upload to the system tenant signed Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection forms for current tenants that owe on past rent. Tenants may also sign and submit these forms through the portal itself. Landlords do not need Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection forms for all tenants that owe rental debt, but grant funds will only be awarded for these tenants. Applicants will also be required to agree to various terms and conditions within the application portal designed, amongst other things, to reduce fraud and abuse.
In addition to the various terms and conditions that landlords agree to in the application portal, OHCS will allow tenants to review the information provided by the landlord to help determine accuracy. OHCS will retain the right to ask for copies of rental agreements or other supporting documents, to view property, or to request any other additional information that is determined necessary to prevent or determine fraud, waste, and abuse. OHCS recommends that landlords maintain assistance records for future auditing purposes.
Rent debt from April 1, 2020 through the current date, owed by current tenants. LCF does not cover damages, fees, utilities, security deposit, etc.
Landlords are required to provide the Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection to tenants. The form is also required under HB 4401 to receive grant assistance from the Landlord Compensation Fund program. Landlords are encouraged to educate their tenants on the importance of this form and/or to give (or provide) information to tenants that may connect them with tenant support agencies that may help them better understand their rights under HB 4401 (OJD Notice of Eviction Protection). OHCS does not have the authority to make a payment without the Declaration of Financial Hardship form for each eligible tenant.
Residents are not required to provide the Declaration form, but may be subject to eviction for non-payment if they have not provided the form and:
- They are late with current rent starting January 1, 2021; or
- They have not paid their back-due rent from April 1, 2020 through December 31, 2020, by March 31, 2021.
OHCS encourages landlords to contact their attorney for legal guidance.
Landlords of Oregon Residential Property who have current residential tenants who owe for past rent for any or all months since April 2020 and have signed a Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection form as outlined in HB 4401. Eligible rental units must be located in the State of Oregon.
Yes. A property manager acting as an agent of the owner according to ORS 90.100(23) may apply, accepting program terms and conditions, on behalf of the owner. All projects with the same ownership must be submitted together. A separate application must be submitted for each owner. If an owner is initiating the application and signing the program documents, they can still add their property manager into the system to provide data for their application.
Yes, the primary restrictions for the LCF program are: the tenant must be under a legal rental agreement (oral or written), they must not be a member of the property owner's immediate family (as defined in ORS 90.427), and the unit must be located in Oregon.
All units covered by ORS Chapter 90 are eligible, including tenancies in hotels that don't meet the "transient occupancy" exception. See ORS 90.100 (49) for "transient occupancy" definition.
Because a Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection is required and consistent with HB 4401, OHCS has taken the position that eligibility only extends to past rent owed for current tenants.
Though HB 4401 does benefit tenants, legislative and programmatic design for this program allows only for landlords to apply. We encourage tenants to advocate and inform their landlords of the program (summary program information here). A great time to do this would be when returning the Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection form.
OHCS also encourages tenants to contact 211 or visit 211info.org to discuss available rental subsidy programs for tenants in your local community. Tenants may want to apply for assistance individually through these programs if their landlord chooses not to apply for assistance through the LCF.
Yes. This program is available regardless of immigration status. There are no questions or requirements on this topic as part of the application.
Yes, the only requirement is that the home is located in Oregon, and that there is a rental agreement (which can be oral or written). Houseboats and manufactured homes are eligible if they are stand-alone or if they are in a marina or a manufactured home park.
No. There are no tenant income restrictions or rent ceilings associated with the program. See ORS 90.323 for rent increase restrictions.
The LCF portal can be viewed on a mobile platform but certain functionality associated with the application process will require a computer.
The first round of applications opened in February, 2021, and closed on March 5, 2021. The second round of applications will open in April 2021. Additional rounds are planned through June 2021, provided that funds are still available.
You can join the Landlord Compensation Fund e-mail list to receive updates on the program, including application windows and deadlines. If waiting for the next application opportunity, you can begin preparing information for submission by reviewing the LCF program page.
OHCS will close the portal for each application round approximately two weeks after opening the application round, barring any extensions.
HB 4401 provided $150 million dollars for the Landlord Compensation Fund Program. OHCS made approximately $50 million dollars available for the February, 2021 application round, which covered arrearages for qualified tenants from April 2020 to the application month.
OHCS anticipates notifying applicants of awards prior to the opening of the next application round. The anticipation is that award announcement will be made by the end of the first full week of the month following the application round.
OHCS anticipates that payments will be received within 60 days of application. Payments are made by local Public Housing Authorities, so payment time may vary.
Legislation allows for landlords to request unpaid rent for tenants that have signed the Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection for rents that came due from April 1, 2020 through the month of application.
Yes. All applications must include rental information from April 1, 2020 to the month of the application (should include the current month). Applications that do not receive funding will be required to update their information in the system from one month to the next in order to include rental information for the current month.
HB 4401 authorizes OHCS to pay 80% of the rental debt owed by qualified tenants. To be eligible for this grant, landlords must agree to forgive the remaining 20% of the tenant's debt as part of the grant agreement and as a condition of receiving payment.
No, the property owner may not collect the remaining 20% once they accept LCF funding. If a property owner accepts a payment for a month covered under the LCF program, the entire amount accepted is subject to OHCS recapture (the 80% paid by LCF and the additional 20%) per HB 4401.
No. OHCS has developed a scoring criteria that weighs portfolio size and percentage of uncollected rent. In addition, as required by HB 4401, OHCS will release the funding over the course of multiple rounds.
Yes, but your application will roll over into the next round. You will only need to provide updated tenant rent debt information for the new month, (this must be done even if all debts are current for the new month). Applications need to be updated between rounds or they will not be considered.
Yes, even if you are funded you may reapply from one round to another. OHCS will require a new application, and all information from April 1, 2020 to current is still required. Your application should be updated to include debt repayment that you were awarded.
Note: OHCS does not anticipate that payment of your award will occur prior to the opening of a new round. Applicants will receive an award letter and applications should be presented based on the anticipation that the qualified tenant’s rental debts will be paid. The new application should only include new rental debts and/or rental debts with newly received Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection forms.
Information provided through the Landlord Compensation Fund application process will only be shared for programmatic related purposes. Tenant information is non-subject to Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests (ORS 192.355 (24)).
The Landlord Compensation Fund (LCF) is a rent assistance program funded by the State of Oregon and operated by Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS). The program enables landlords to apply for money to cover past due rents of current tenants that have been unable to pay their full rent since the governor established the Eviction Moratorium in response to COVID-19. If approved for funding, a landlord would receive 80% of any eligible tenant past due rent and would be required to forgive the remaining 20%.
If your landlord applies for this program, they will need to provide detail on the rents charged, and rents received for all units in their building going back to April 2020. If they have current tenants with past due rent, they will need to let them know through a written notice that they are going to apply for the program, include any signed tenant Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection that they have received, and will also need to provide the state with basic contact information for those tenants.
The state is only asking for contact information for current tenants with past due rents that may be eligible to be covered through this program. The state will ONLY use this information for this program and will not share that information with the public. For the program, the information will be used in two ways:
- After the landlord provides their application, an e-mail notification will be sent to the tenant so that you have the opportunity to log into the system to see the information that your landlord has provided about your past-due rent. If you haven’t done so already, you will have the ability to complete your Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection directly in your landlord’s application.
- If your landlord is selected for funding, your local Public Housing Authority will be mailing you a notice that your past-due rent has been covered.
This is a form that has been created by the state in order for tenants that have experienced a financial hardship of any type during this COVID-19 period to have rights in the Eviction Moratorium. You can find more information on that here. ALSO, in this program, that form is being used to make your past due rent eligible to be covered. That means that if you are able to complete the form, your rent debt may be covered in your landlord’s application. If you do not provide the form, then the state is not able to pay your landlord for your past due rent. Financial Declaration of Hardship forms are available in additional languages at:
- (Spanish) Este formulario está disponible en español en Formularios en Español
- (Russian) Бланк этого документа можно получить на русском языке в Бланки документов на русском языке
- (Vietnamese) Đơn này có bằng tiếng Việt tại Đơn bằng tiếng Việt
- (Traditional Chinese) 本表格的繁体中文版在 繁體中文表格
- (Korean) 한국어로 번역된 양식은 다음 웹 싸이트에서 찾을 수 있습니다 한글 양식
Yes, the only information requested from tenants is the signed Declaration of Financial Hardship for Eviction Protection. There are no income requirements or documentation, and there are no citizen requirements or documentation that will be requested for this program.
No, if a landlord chooses to use this program, they are required to forgive that remaining 20% in past due rent. They are not going to be able to charge tenants for that. If your landlord's application is funded, tenants will receive a letter in the mail with the information on the rent that has been covered.
The program will have multiple funding rounds. The first round opened in February 2021 and closed on March 5, and the second round will open in April 2021. If a landlord is not selected for funding, they will be able to apply again in subsequent rounds – through June or until all of the money in the program has been spent.
No, this program is limited to covering current tenants only.
This program will cover any past rent for any or all months since April 2020.