OREGON

EMANCIPATION INFORMATION

REQUIREMENTS

Applications can only be filed in the County where the custodial parent or guardian resides.

WHAT RIGHTS DOES EMANCIPATION OFFER?

Emancipation grants minors many of the same rights as an eighteen year old with
adult status: to enter into contracts, make living arrangements, buy a car, obtain
medical services, sue and be sued. Emancipated minors are not subject to curfew
laws due to age and cannot be considered runaways. Those who violate the law
are referred to the adult criminal court.

Emancipation does NOT affect age qualifications for purchasing or consuming alcohol,

obtaining a marriage license with parental consent, voting or obtaining a work permit under labor
laws.

WHAT FACTORS DOES THE COURT CONSIDER?

In determining whether to issue a decree of emancipation, the Court is guided by three factors:
whether parents consent; whether the applicant has been living apart from the family home and is
able to be self-supporting without parental guidance and supervision, and whether the applicant
shows sufficient maturity and knowledge to manage their lives without parental assistance.

Although parental consent is weighed, lack of it does not mean the request will be denied.
Applicants without jobs or job prospects or those living at home with no prospect of moving out
are poor candidates. It is the applicant’s responsibility to demonstrate to the Court the capacity
to successfully meet the criteria, although applicants may be represented at any point by legal
counsel at their own expense.

Character reference letters from employers, teachers, and friends are helpful. Also important are
records of recent school grades, earnings statements, rental receipts, and a spending plan
showing how medical and other expenses will be met, and the applicant’s after-tax income.
Applicants should be prepared to tell the Judge clearly and concisely why they want to be
emancipated.

More information on emancipation can be found in the Oregon Revised Statutes sections
419B.550 — 419B.558.
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WHAT IS THE PROCEDURE FOR FILING AN EMANCIPATION APPLICATION?

1. Applicants complete the application for Emancipation available at the Washington County
Juvenile Department, 222 N First Avenue in Hillsboro. The application must be signed in
front of a Notary Public, which is available at the Juvenile Department. You must provide a
government issued identification with a photo, such as a Driver’s License, state issued
ID or a passport to obtain notarization, a school issued identification is not sufficient.

2. Applicants must wait 24 hours for the document to be entered into the system, then pay a
nonrefundable filing fee of $281 to the Court Accounting Department located at 150 N First
Avenue in Hillsboro — in the first floor of the Justice Services Building. You will be given a
receipt showing proof of payment.

3. A preliminary hearing before the Court will be set within ten judicial days from the date the
application is filed with the Court. You must bring the receipt showing payment of the
fee to the preliminary hearing or your case will not be heard.

4. Applicants must notify parents of the preliminary hearing’s date and time.

5. A decision may be made at the preliminary hearing if the applicant waives a final hearing and
if the parents are present and agree to waive the final hearing.

6. If a final hearing is required, the time from the filing of the application until decision will not
exceed sixty days. The final hearing will occur even if parents do not appear.

Before seeking emancipation, applicants may wish to explore alternatives. The agencies listed
may be able to help:

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES NETWORK BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
WASHINGTON COUNTY BRANCH (503) 648-8951

(503) 648-0753

LIFEWORKS NORTHWEST YOUTH CONTACT

(503) 645-9010 (503) 640-4222

LUTHERAN COMMUNITY SERVICES OF OREGON  SEQUOIA MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES
(503) 231-7480 (503) 591-9280

SAFE PLACE FOR YOUTH WESTERN PSYCHOLOGICAL

(503) 542-2717 (503) 626-9494
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