

Media Release

Results: Deputies Arrest 73 Impaired Drivers in May

June 14, 2018 – During enhanced patrols in the month of May, Washington County Sheriff's Office deputies arrested 73 impaired drivers. That equates to an average of over two DUII arrests each day. Eleven of those drivers were arrested for drug impairment and two were for felony-level crimes. Deputies would like to remind the public that impaired driving is a one hundred percent preventable offense, and to always plan a sober ride.

Deputies Conducting Enhanced Impaired Driving Patrols in May

The Washington County Sheriff's Office, in partnership with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT), and Oregon State Sheriff's Association (OSSA), will be conducting high visibility enforcement patrols looking for impaired drivers during the entire month of May.

According to NHTSA, 37,461 people were killed in motor vehicle traffic crashes in 2016, and 28 percent (10,497) of those fatalities were in crashes during which a driver had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit of .08.

On average, a driving under the influence arrest costs \$10,000 in attorney fees, fines, court costs, lost time at work, higher insurance rates, car towing and repairs, and more.

There are many other ways to ensure a safe ride home besides relying on a friend. The options include using public transportation, calling a taxi, or using a rideshare program such as Uber or Lyft. In addition, NHTSA's SaferRide Mobile App, available in the app store, is another resource to help those who have been drinking find a sober ride home—by identifying their location and helping to call a taxi or a friend to pick them up.

Please do your part in keeping our roadways safe and help keep impaired drivers from getting behind the wheel. If you plan on drinking or consuming drugs, designate your sober driver. And remember: *Friends Don't Let Friends Drive Drunk*.

The results of the May enhanced impaired driving patrols will be posted in early June.

Sheriff's Public Information Office

PIO Phone: 503-209-5613