

Media Release

Results: Deputies Arrest 82 Impaired Drivers in March

April 4, 2018 – During enhanced patrols in the month of March, Washington County Sheriff's Office deputies arrested 82 impaired drivers. That equates to an average of over two and a half DUII arrests each day. Deputies would like to remind the public that impaired driving is a one hundred percent preventable offense, and to always plan a sober ride.

The original media release is below.

Deputies Conducting Enhanced Impaired Driving Patrols in March

March 9, 2018 – The Washington County Sheriff's Office, in partnership with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), will be conducting high visibility enforcement patrols looking for impaired drivers during the entire month of March.

According to NHTSA, 37,461 people were killed in motor vehicle traffic crashes in 2016, and 28 percent (10,497) of those fatalities were in crashes during which a driver had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit of .08.

On average, a driving under the influence arrest costs \$10,000 in attorney fees, fines, court costs, lost time at work, higher insurance rates, car towing and repairs, and more.

There are many other ways to ensure a safe ride home besides relying on a friend. The options include using public transportation, calling a taxi, or using a rideshare program such as Uber or Lyft. In addition, NHTSA's SaferRide Mobile App, available in the app store, is another resource to help fans who have been drinking find a sober ride home—by identifying their location and helping to call a taxi or a friend to pick them up.

Please do your part in keeping our roadways safe and help keep impaired drivers from getting behind the wheel. If you plan on drinking or consuming drugs, designate your sober driver. And remember: *Friends Don't Let Friends Drive Drunk*.

The results of the March enhanced impaired driving patrols will be posted in early April.

Sheriff's Public Information Office

PIO Phone: 503-209-5613