

## Media Release

## Deputies Participating in National "Click It or Ticket" Campaign

August 20, 2018 – Beginning Monday, August 20 and extending through Sunday, September 2, Washington County Sheriff's Office deputies will be participating in the national "Click It or Ticket" safety campaign. This campaign is being conducted in partnership with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT), and Oregon State Sheriff's Association (OSSA), and aims to strengthening public awareness of safety belt and child restraint usage, distracted driving, and speeding.

Safety belts used correctly can reduce the risk of major crash injury or death by up to 65 percent. For safety belt systems, "proper use" means lap belt placed low across hips and shoulder belt crossing center of the chest over the collarbone. The shoulder belt should not be placed under the arm or behind the back.

According to the NHTSA, motor vehicle crashes are the leading nationwide cause of death for children ages one through twelve years old. In 2016, 1,582 children under age nine were injured in Oregon traffic crashes and five children died. It is estimated that car seats may increase crash survival by 71 percent for infants under one year old and by up to 59 percent for toddlers aged one to four. Booster seats may reduce the chance of nonfatal injury among four to eight year olds by 45 percent compared to safety belts used alone. ODOT crash data for 2016 shows lack of safety belt or child restraint use was a factor in 26 percent or 89 of a total 343 motor vehicle occupant fatalities.

A new Oregon law for children under age two requires they use a child seat with harness in a rear-facing position, unless the child turned one year of age prior to May 26, 2017. A child over age two or who turned one year of age prior to May 26, 2017 must continue to ride in a car seat with harness or in a booster until they reach age eight or 4' 9" in height and the adult belt fits them correctly. The new law, which extends the rear-facing requirement from the previous age one to age two, will better protect the child's head, neck, and spine from potential crash injuries.

For help selecting or installing child car seats, consult the seat manufacturer's instructions, or your vehicle owner's manual. You can also find a local child seat fitting station by visiting the <a href="NHTSA">NHTSA</a> and <a href="Oregon Impact">Oregon Impact</a> websites. Many car seat fitting stations will host special events during National Child Passenger Safety Week, from September 23 through 29, with certified child passenger safety technicians on-hand to assist families with selection and use of car seats and boosters.

Participation in this campaign is being coordinated by the Washington County Sheriff's Office <u>Traffic Safety Unit</u>, who is dedicated to promoting and improving traffic safety through education, analysis, and enforcement.

Sheriff's Public Information Office

PIO Phone: 503-209-5613