Skip to main content

Report Abuse and Neglect

Anyone can report suspected abuse or neglect. Reporting abuse or neglect can protect the most vulnerable members of our community, prevent lifelong effects of trauma and get help for families.

If you think someone is in imminent danger of being hurt, call 9-1-1 immediately.

Animal abuse

Call Washington County Animal Services at 503-846-7041 if you suspect an animal is being abused or neglected.

Child abuse

Call the statewide reporting hotline at 1-855-503-7233 if you suspect a child is being abused or neglected. You will be connected to a Child Welfare Screener. Please be ready to provide identifying information and where the child is, if known. This number is available 24 hours a day, 7 days per week.

Other options and resources:

Domestic abuse

If you are currently in an abusive relationship, it is important to consider that your online activity and other technology use may be monitored by your partner.

Call 9-1-1 if you or someone else is in immediate danger.

Other options and resources:

Elder and vulnerable adult abuse

Depending on the situation, a variety of options exist to respond to specific types of abuse related to elders and other vulnerable adults. For more information on how to make a report, see Reporting Abuse of Older Adults and People with Physical Disabilities.

  • To report abuse, neglect or financial exploitation of an older adult or individual with a physical disability in Washington County, call 971-673-5200. Phones are answered M-F from 8 AM to 5 PM.
  • To report abuse involving an adult experiencing an intellectual or developmental disability call 503-846-3150 or for after-hours and weekends, call 503-291-9111.
  • To report abuse that involves an adult with severe and persistent mental health call 503-846-4505 and leave a message with your contact information. An investigator will follow up on the next business day.
  • To report abuse involving an adult receiving residential substance use disorder treatment call 503-945-9495.
  • You can also call the statewide abuse reporting hotline at 1-855-503-SAFE (7233) if you suspect an adult is being abused, or local law enforcement through non-emergency dispatch at 503-629-0111.

Victim Services

Washington County is fortunate to have a rich network of resources to support victims and their families. Additional information and referrals can be obtained by dialing 2-1-1 or contacting Washington County non-emergency dispatch at 503-629-0111.