Skip to main content

How Washington County is Addressing Fair Housing

Addressing fair housing at Washington County
Fair Housing Washington County

  • Washington County complies with the Federal Fair Housing Act by not engaging in discriminatory actions or implementing policies that could directly or indirectly deny protected classes housing choice.

  • Washington County receives federal funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) for grant programs that include Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG), and the HOME Investments Partnership Program (HOME). All jurisdictions that receive federal funds are federally obligated to affirmatively further fair housing. HUD defines Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing as: "taking meaningful actions, in addition to combating discrimination, that overcome patterns of segregation and foster inclusive communities free from barriers that restrict access to opportunity based on protected characteristics. Specifically, affirmatively furthering fair housing means taking meaningful actions that, taken together, address significant disparities in housing needs and in access to opportunity, replacing segregated living patterns with truly integrated and balanced living patterns, transforming racially and ethnically concentrated areas of poverty into areas of opportunity, and fostering and maintaining compliance with civil rights and fair housing laws. The duty to affirmatively further fair housing extends to all of a program participants’ activities and programs relating to housing and urban development."

  • The Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing Choice, or AI, is a planning process for local governments to take meaningful actions to overcome historic patterns of segregation, promote fair housing choice, and foster inclusive communities that are free from discrimination. Washington County's AI, conducted in 2019-2020, addresses the County’s obligations under AFFH based on our receipt of CDBG, ESG, and HOME funds. Additionally, through an intergovernmental agreement with the cities that comprise the Washington County Consortium, Consortium Cities must also Affirmatively Further Fair Housing within their jurisdictions. Washington County consortium cities include Beaverton, Hillsboro, Gaston, Banks, North Plains, Forest Grove, Cornelius, Tigard, King City, Tualatin, and Sherwood.

Back to top