Skip to main content

Fair Housing

OCD Fair Housing Information and Resources

What is Fair Housing?

The set of federal, state, and local civil rights laws that protect individuals based on their membership in a protected class from individual or systemic discrimination in housing transactions.

Who is Protected?

Federal Protected Classes



National Origin



Familial Status (families with children under 18)


Oregon’s Additional State Protected Classes

Marital Status

Source of income (Section 8/Housing Choice Vouchers)

Sexual Orientation

Gender Identity

Local Ordinances

Domestic Violence Survivors protected under Oregon landlord tenant law

Types of Discrimination

  • Disparate Treatment: People are treated differently in similar situations based on one of the protected classes.
    • Example: A property management company does not consider rental applications from people of racial minority groups (intentional discrimination based on race).
  • Disparate Impact (Hud Rule Definition): A practice that actually or predictably results in a disparate impact on a group of persons or creates, increases, reinforces, or perpetuates segregated housing patterns because of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or national origin.
    • Example: A property management company will only consider full-time employment in calculating the income of prospective tenants. This results in disparate impact on people who receive disability payments (discrimination based on disability).