A temporary restaurant license is required when food is prepared or served for consumption by the public at events. There are three types of temporary restaurants:
- Single Temporary Restaurant operates in conjunction with a single public event. This license expires after 30 days of continual operation.
- Intermittent Temporary Restaurant is a food operation at a specific location in connection with multiple public events with at least two different oversight organizations. The location remains the same and the menu is not altered. The license expires after 30 days.
- Seasonal Temporary Restaurant is a food operation at a specific location in connection to an event arranged by one oversight organization. The location remains the same and the menu is not changed. The license expires after 90 days.
Mobile food units with a current license from another county in Oregon operating at an event in Washington County must complete and submit theform, provide a copy of their current license, and pay an inspection fee before operation. Out-of-state mobile food units operating at events in Washington County must obtain a temporary restaurant license.
We must receive your application for a temporary restaurant at least one week before the event. This allows us to review it and address any possible concerns in a timely manner.
For information about operations regulated by the Oregon Department of Agriculture, including bakeries and home kitchens, visit their Food Safety License page.
For more information about the food code, visit the Food Code Adoption page.
Forms and Information
Food Sanitation Rules and Statutes
- OAR 333-150 Food Sanitation Rules (applicable to all facilities)
- OAR 333-157 Inspection and Licensing Procedures
- OAR 333-162 Additional Information for Mobile Units
- ORS 624 Food Service Facilities
For Event Coordinators
Contact us with any questions or concerns.
Your opinion matters. Please take a few minutes to let us know how we did so we can continue to improve our service.